Tuesday, June 19, 2012

David Nalbandian commits to Wimbledon despite costly Queen's club antics

David Nalbandian insists he will not pull out of Wimbledon despite his costly antics at Queen's Club on Sunday. 

Playing on: David Nalbandian will play at Wimbledon, 10 years after reaching the final Photo: GETTY IMAGES

Police confirmed that they are investigating a complaint of alleged assault against Nalbandian after he kicked an advertising hoarding in to the leg of a line judge during his AEGON Championships final against Marin Cilic.
Nalbandian was disqualified for the kick, losing his £36,500 prize money in the process, and the ATP confirmed last night that the player had also been fined £6,400 - the maximum under tour rules - for unsportsmanlike conduct.
Yet despite the furore surrounding the incident, Nalbandian is determined to return to England next week to play at Wimbledon, where he reached the final 10 years ago.
The Argentine's representative Bernado Ballero told Press Association Sport: "I can confirm to you that David's thoughts are about playing at Wimbledon."
The confirmation of Nalbandian's fine came yesterday evening, with an ATP spokeswoman saying: "Nalbandian automatically forfeited his prize money and ranking points due to his conduct default.



Post a Comment